IHSA Nationals Wraps Up Day 2

Sarah Lindsay from Stanford University was named Individual Walk-Trot Champion aboard Rex.

Friday, May 6, marked the second day of the Intercollegiate Horse Shows Association (IHSA) National Finals, held at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington, KY. Exhibitors also saw the first day of western competition.

The day kicked off with the Alumni Equitation over Fences class, where Emily Kowalchik from Cornell University came out as victor after a great ride and test. Eleanor Royster from North Carolina State University and Irene Peluso of Fairfield University tested alongside Emily, and earned second and third, respectively. Fourth through tenth place finishers were Leah Samouhos of Delaware Valley University, Kayleigh Burke of Virginia Tech, Emily Hulak of Rutgers University, Erin Sutherland of Northern Illinois University, Casey Zuraitis of St. Lawrence University, Deborah Kaufman of University of Connecticut, and Katherine Deichmann of Kansas State University.

Elle Brady from the University of Findlay proved triumphant in the Collegiate Cup Intermediate Equitation over Fences class. Joined by Elle in the testing phase were: Meredith Denny from Savannah College of Art and Design, Morgan Etienne from the University of Kentucky, and Madeline Skrak from Mount Holyoke College, who placed second, third, and fourth, respectively. Fifth through tenth went to Allison Bienas of Delaware Valley University, Skylar Laakso of Centenary College, Alison Radgowski of Goucher College, Emily Keena of Kansas State University, Kelsey Shirzad of the University of Vermont, and Shana Coffey of Cornell University.

Next in the lineup was the first phase of the esteemed Cacchione Cup competition. Thirty-seven riders contested the course, and the cream rose to the top. Over fences, the highest score went to yesterday’s Individual Open Equitation over Fences Champion, Chase Boggio, from Tufts Universtiy, with an 89. Stanford University rider Abby Bertelson earned the second highest score of an 88. Victoria Bauer from College of Charleston rode to an 87, Anna Cardelfe of Villanova University earned an 86.50, Jesse Fortier from St. Lawrence University came out with an 86, Alexandra Carlton from the University of Vermont rode to an 85.50, Ursula Green of Skidmore College earned an 85, Ryan Genn from Savannah College of Art and Design earned an 84, Morgan Schneider from Virginia Tech came away with an 83, and Lauren Henry from the University of Rhode Island rode to an 82.

Western competition kicked off after lunch, leading with the American Quarter Horse Association (AQHA) Open Reining Team class. Selena Finn slid into first place for the University of Nebraska—Lincoln, with Alex Miller taking second for Black Hawk College. Third through eighth place winners were: Kelsey Wilson for West Texas A&M University, Elizabeth Hayes for the University of Findlay, Elissa Bening for Ohio State University, Racheal Nordby for Oregon State University, Taylor Ferguson for the University of Louisville, and Elizabeth Poczobut for Berry College.

After the over fences phase, the judges narrowed down the 37 Cacchione Cup riders to 24, split into two flat classes. Riders demonstrated a walk, trot, and canter, as well as a sitting trot, hand gallop to a halt, and half turn on the haunches. Scores were withheld until tomorrow, when the riders for the work-off will be announced. Stay tuned to hear all about it!

Competition continued with the Individual Walk-Trot Equitation class, championed by Stanford University’s Sarah Lindsay. Reserve champion went to Caitlin McDargh from Georgia Southern University. Third through tenth place finishers included: Amanda Symons of Cornell University, Hilary Ambrose from the University of Kentucky, Abigail Thomas of Skidmore College, Karen Sivy from Lake Erie College, Emily Weaver from Centenary College, Robert Reyes of Emory & Henry College, Mikaela Oustayan from the University of New Hampshire, and Leah Irwin from the University of North Florida.

For the Collegiate Cup Walk-Trot Equitation class, Mikayla Colson snagged the top spot for Savannah College of Art and Design, with Caroline Boozer riding for Cornell University in second. In third through tenth place were: Illianna Termuehlen for Mount Holyoke College,Paola Sierra-Danielsen for St. Andrews University, Katherine Boudreau for Stanford University, Abigail Gess for Delaware Valley University, Shelby Nelson for Purdue University, Will Grant for St. Lawrence University, Simone Giroir for Louisiana State University, and Kaylea Nemechek for Kansas State University.

Emma Willeke from the University of Findlay was crowned champion of the AQHA Novice Western Horsemanship, while Sarah Cooper from Berry College earned reserve. Third through ninth place were as follows: Haley McWhorter from Black Hawk College, Dillon Vaughn for St. Andrews University, J’Nan Wittler from the University of Nebraska—Lincoln, Katie Uetz for Oregon State University, Maggie Murphy for West Texas A&M University, Katherine Denune from Ohio State University, and Victoria Abbott from the University of Louisville.

Zone 1 dominated in the Collegiate Cup Walk-Trot-Canter Equitation, with Sabrina Fox from Mount Holyoke College taking the win and the University of Vermont’s Morgan Howlett coming in second. Third through tenth place finishers included: Jessica Amsberry for Savannah College of Art and Design, Casey Jones from St. Lawrence University, Helen Carter for Kansas State University, Sarah Lummis for Goucher College, Lizzie Lengling for the University of Findlay, Leah Ayau from the University of Kentucky, Sydney Cottingham for Louisiana State University, and Grace Wadford for St. Andrews University.

At the end of a long day, Hanna Hedderick from the University of Findlay won the Individual Open Western Horsemanship, with North Carolina State University’s Olivia Turner riding to second place. Third through tenth place finishers were: Holly Phillips from the University of Findlay, Dylan Dombrowski of Cazenovia College, Alex Miller from Black Hawk College, Kevyn Cunningham of Murray State University, Sydney Hull from the University of Kentucky, Codi Uecker of Rocky Mountain College, Elizabeth Poczobut from Berry College, and Taylor Overmier from Ohio State University.

Congratulations to all the riders! Stay tuned for Saturday’s results.

Categories: News in the Nation